goodnight, sleep tight

March 20, 2014 § Leave a comment

...

My baby girl helped me make a cake today from start to finish. She cracked eggs, poured sugar, flour and oil, mixed in baking powder and vanilla essence and very carefully added chocolate chips as her final touch. I watched her and couldn’t help but be fully aware of how much she’s growing and changing. Her first cake. Ever.

Later on this evening, as I was putting my children to bed, she pulled my face close to hers and gave me a little “face-hug”. Then from out of the blue her little hand started to stroke my face and I was in awe at the fact that I had only given birth to this beautiful little human just a little over two years ago. And here she was, stroking MY face?

Children are a lot of work but the way that they reward you with gifts like the ones above are indeed priceless. How can you put a price on these kind of organic experiences? Never mind, we’re not meant to calculate stuff like that, we’re just meant to be present and enjoy.

Love and light,

Danielle

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading goodnight, sleep tight at Danielle's Everyday Life.

meta

