first day of preschool

September 5, 2012 § 3 Comments

Théo was spectacular. He was excited about his big day and he was a breeze to get ready in the morning – the preschool gods were shining down upon us.  Amazingly enough I, somehow, was extra zen the night before and the day of his first day. I don’t know what came over me but I lost my nervousness and was instead able to enjoy all of the actions involved in taking my child to school for the first time. It was a good day.

What about today? Well, there’s no school on Wednesdays over here in France. WHAT? Yes, that’s right, there’s no school on Wednesdays. Having said that, they do have extra long days during the week to compensate. Anyhow, tomorrow will be a short day for him at school, just a few hours and then I’ll be right back there to pick him up. Then Friday will be his first normal day.

The only thing that I don’t like about his school is that they allow (and make) the kids nap for so long. Basically they nap for several hours after lunch, then have  a light snack and then play for a very short while before getting picked up at 16:30. Since Théo doesn’t nap I might have him eat lunch at the canteen instead of picking him up to have lunch at home. That way I can avoid having to take him back and forth to school several times a day and he’ll also have the benefit of not having to lie quietly in a darkened room for several hours… Hey, I wish that someone would make ME rest in a quiet and darkened room for a few hours a day ;)

Love and light,

Danielle

§ 3 Responses to first day of preschool

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading first day of preschool at Danielle's Everyday Life.

meta

