to school, to school

September 3, 2012 § 1 Comment

He’s going to school for the first time tomorrow. Preschool is school. It doesn’t matter that they don’t get grades, they still have to wake up at a certain hour, behave a certain way, learn things and make it through a full day before going back home in the (late) afternoon. It’s a big deal and it’s an even bigger deal for me I guess. I was a nervous wreck last night. That was when Pierre and I figured out (through facebook – yeah, I’m embarrassed to say it but I’ll admit it) that they start school on Tuesday and not Thursday, as we once thought… Wow, we almost REALLY messed that one up…

Anyhow, we read his book about preschool this evening and in it there’s a part about what to pack in your backpack. After reading that section we filled his Lightning McQueen bag with all of the essentials – extra underwear (he insisted that we put in TWO pairs…don’t know what his plans are…), pants, an extra shirt, a notebook, his cup and in the morning we’ll put in his doudou.  He seemed pretty happy about the whole thing considering that just a week and a half ago he admitted to me that he was messing up his potty training because “I’m scared to go to school.” My baby.

I’ve got to get to bed now, that is, if I can manage to actually close my eyes and drift away.

Love and light,

Danielle

§ One Response to to school, to school

  • Denice says:

    SO how did it go? I am sure it was harder on you then him. Its such a hard thing to let go, even when you know you made the right decision.
    Email me and keep me posted.
    Love you and miss you!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading to school, to school at Danielle's Everyday Life.

meta

