snow in the south of france

February 4, 2012 § Leave a comment

when it started

a lonely bench

even the mumintrollet (moomintroll) can't believe it's snowing

...

...

We moved to the south of France from Sweden without any expectations of seeing snow again.

It snowed last night. I happened to look out the kitchen window and see that the wind was blowing around snowflakes and still it took me a minute to really believe that it was actually happening. It seems like the cars were covered two minutes later and then all I could think about was the fact that I had to drive into Marseille early the next morning to meet some friends for a “girls only” day of shopping.

I’m writing this post right now because I had to tell the others that I couldn’t make it. The roads were too slippery and our car is not outfitted with winter tires nor is the town going to cover the streets in salt either. That just doesn’t happen down here. It snows, you stay in, period.

Still if you had told me that my once in a blue moon (no-kids-allowed) girl outing would be cancelled due to snow I would have laughed in your face. Who’s laughing now?

Love and light,

Danielle

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading snow in the south of france at Danielle's Everyday Life.

meta

