stars and stripes

December 15, 2010 § 2 Comments

I’m back.

It’s great to be back.  Our trip was long, even if my boy was the best travel partner (in that he didn’t cry once!) and I ended up forgetting his stroller at the airport. I was in a daze after being drilled by Homeland Security on why they couldn’t find the ESTA that I had bought and filled in for Theo. It turns out that there’s an “I” in his passport number that looked like the number one to me…

I ended up getting through but I was just dumbstruck by all the trouble this issue (involving an 18 month old) involved. In fact, I was stunned by the level of security from the moment that I purchased my ticket online to the moment that I passed the last security check after collecting (half) of my luggage. This country is on H-I-G-H alert alright. And it’s Goddamn scary. In fact, the situation in so tense that they end up making YOU (the average good citizen) feel like a possible terrorist yourself. It’s like that Star Wars Jedi mind trick – “You’re a terrorist.” “Maybe I am a terrorist.”

It’s so weird to view my country in this new way and it’s a bit sad as well. The innocence is gone. Our sense of security has been robbed and we’re helping with that process.

That said – I am incredibly happy to be back. I certainly do love this country, high alert or not this country is pretty fantastic.

Love and light,

Danielle

§ 2 Responses to stars and stripes

  • Catie says:

    Yeah!!!! It’s in Theo’s blood to be a traveler, glad to hear that shined through for you on his first big trip! The day I left for Florida, we had a poll in my office of which security measure I should opt for…the body scan or the pat down. Turned out neither was required. Hope you are enjoying the sunshine state and the visitis with all the friends and family who have missed you!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading stars and stripes at Danielle's Everyday Life.

meta

