people that matter

January 19, 2010 § Leave a comment

It’s so clear to me now how important it is to spend time on and with the people who really matter.  My mother always told me that one has to invest in relationships if one wants to get anything comforting from them – she’s right.  Friendship, companionship or whatever you want to call it, is not a one-way street.  It takes two people and both have to enjoy the other’s company.  I see now how important it is to nurture those special friendships, those relationships.  Best friends, and even good friends, don’t grow on trees.  And they’re not always the people who you thought they would be- sometimes they can turn out to be the most unlikely of people and that’s kind of refreshing. Other times these special people are closer to you then you think and you end up finding them in a cousin or a cousin’s cousin or a cousin’s cousin’s cousin! Either way I feel very blessed to have a lot of special people in my life but today I’d like to make a little shout out to two people – David and Catie.

David has an uncanny way of knowing what movie, song or piece of writing I’d be interested in. He makes me laugh and he’s just so easy to be around because he allows people to just be themselves and who could ask for anything more in a great friend? Catie is too sweet for words. She’s caring, giving, loving and the kind of person that you know you can count on no matter what. Both of these people take time for our friendship and both let me know that they care. I am humbled by them, thankful for them and wish that everyone could be so lucky to call them their friend.

So here’s to Catie and David (and no, they are not dating, they’ve never even met one another!!) – two great friends that I’m so happy in have in my life!!

Love you both,

Danielle

Miami 2007

the Carlsberg factory in Copenhagen Dec.2009

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading people that matter at Danielle's Everyday Life.

meta

