The Proposal

January 4, 2010 § 4 Comments

So, I’m about to turn 33 in a few days and that means that I’ve had my share of Christmas gifts through the years.  Christmas has always been a happy time for me and I’m thankful that I’ve had parents that were not only able to provide for me but also able to make the Christmas holiday a special one full of fun and mystery.  Truth be told I just hope that I can be as good of a Santa as my father was.  Despite the fact that I never saw Santa, my father always made it seem like he had “just” been in the house, we had “just” missed him and “look at the gifts that he not only left under the tree but also UP the chimney!!!”  That’s right, my father would purposefully put small gifts in the bottom part of the chimney so that I would be certain of the fact that Santa had actually squeezed himself down it to deliver my gifts.

My father made my Christmas seem like a fairly tale.  Even now I can remember (with a slight enhanced beating of my heart) the rush that I got when he ran into my room at midnight telling me that we had to hurry to the window because he had just been awakened by the sound of hooves on the roof – Santa’s reindeer of course.  And of course when we ran to the window and my father was able to point out the sleigh (a tiny red dot in the distance) I was also able to recognize it…I love my daddy, what can I say?

Like I mentioned at the start of this post, I’m going to be celebrating a birthday in the next few days and Santa hasn’t been around for quite a few years.  That’s why this Christmas was special.  I wasn’t expecting a special gift, s huge surprise or anything out of the ordinary for that matter. Yet this year Santa had somehow turned into a certain Frenchman that I can’t live without…

I never noticed that I had not received a single gift from Pierre.  I didn’t “get it” when at the end of our gift giving, when we were the only remaining two people with gifts, why he wanted to open the rest of his gifts as once so that I could open mine for all to see.  Pierre gave me his last gift by first saying that it was a very special gift.  I was confused.  I didn’t think that the little box, wrapped with old wrapping paper, could possible contain anything like an engagement ring.  I wasn’t expecting that from him and the wrapping paper…did I mention the wrapping paper?

But as Pierre continued to speak he said something that made my heart begin to pound so hard that I thought that it was coming out both of my ears.  He said that he had originally intended for me to receive the gift when both families were in Sweden this past summer but that my family had unexpectedly changed their plans at the last minute.  Instead of his parents being able to spend time with mine, my parents ended up leaving the country on the exact same day as his parents arrived. So now, finally, after waiting for six months – Pierre said that he was now, in front of both families, able to ask my father a very important question.  The question was, “Will you allow me to marry your daughter?” My father answered Pierre by walking across the room to give him a huge hug.  I responded by shaking and crying.  I can’t tell you how happy I was, I can’t tell you how wonderful it is to be asked that question by someone that you love beyond words, someone that you couldn’t possibly imagine not living your life with.  I feel so blessed to feel the way that I do about Pierre and so, all of these thoughts were going through my head as I cried and hugged family members…only to be interrupted when someone yelled out (I don’t remember who it was) “She didn’t say yes yet!”

Pierre looked at me and I said, “I couldn’t have asked for a better man.” And I couldn’t! After that I finally opened the little gift and we all laughed when we saw that Pierre had wrapped that old crappy wrapping paper over the pretty wrapping paper that contained the ring box.  Inside was a little gift, all for me.

still in shock

a ring on my finger

Tagged: ,

§ 4 Responses to The Proposal

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Proposal at Danielle's Everyday Life.

meta

