Naguib Mahfouz and pencils help ease the pain

November 6, 2009 § Leave a comment

Thursday, October 23, 2008


My goodness! I have been a very not-busy lady lately! Although my bouts of nausea have eased up a bit I still have headaches that could kill a small farm animal, and yet, I’m thankful for these! The good news is that I’m starting to feel a bit better and that means that my confinement will soon be over. As it is I’ve had to cancel a trip to Norway to see a close friend…I was worried that I’d be stuck in her home all day, next to her white throne!

All in all I have to get better though since P and I are planning a trip to Prague in eight days. I’ve never been and I’m praying that I’ll make it through without any trouble. As for Norway, it’s been postponed until December, the same month that P and I are planning a mini trip to Paris to see some of his close friends. Let’s pray that this baby likes to travel as much as his or her parents do!

All in all I’ve taken up drawing again (something that I’m thankful for since it helps keep my mind off of my pregnancy symptoms) and I’m trying to read as much as I used to. At the moment I’m in the middle of “Drown” by Junot Diaz and now I’m into the second book of the “The Cairo Trilogy” by Naguib Mahfouz.

I can’t say enough great things about Mahfouz – the first book “Palace Walk” read so easily that I was already worried about one day having to eventually reach the end of the trilogy. I know that it sounds childish to speak that way put that’s as plainly as I can state my feelings.

Right now I’m well into “Palace of Desire” and I don’t want to put the book down. Being to Egypt and staying with Egyptians while there helps me to become even more emotionally attached to these books. Although, I’m sure that it doesn’t take much for anyone to get hooked.

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Naguib Mahfouz and pencils help ease the pain at Danielle's Everyday Life.

meta

